Screw you guys, I’m goin’ ta Hogwarts ( a not so subtle plug for GameFly)

So there’s a very distinct chance that you’ll be seeing a little less of me this week, possibly into the next.  I apologize profusely, but you see LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7 arrived in the mail yesterday.  So I’m off to Hogwarts, gotta do somethin about that noseless prick Voldemort.  I’m the only one who can, doncha know?  I’m also expecting Remember Me to arrive any day now.

But I’d like to take this chance to tell you all about a little thing called GameFly.  I’m sure you’ve seen the commercials on TV, late at night on Adult Swim or Comedy Central.  And you’ve wondered: is this some bullshit?  Can it really be as awesome as it seems?

It isn’t…and it can.

For twenty-something eighty-something a month, it seems a little expensive for their two-games-at-a-time plan.  but if you maintain a subscription for a while, you start to get some small, but noticable benefits.  The most crucial of which is the wonderful thing I like to call “The Level 3 Two-Step.”  Level 1 membership grants you a recurring $5 coupon, more or less.  Level two membership grants you a 5% discount on used games in addition to the $5 coupon.  Level 3 gives 10% off plus the $5.

Which brings me to the real reason GameFly rocks so many socks: these discounts can be applied to games you’ve already rented.  That’s right.  The first game I received was SSX for the PS3.  Certain games, when rented, have a KEEP option next to their names in the GameQ.  So let’s say the keep price is normally like 19.99.  Well subtract 5% and you end up with 17.99.  Minus 5 bucks for the random coupon (you lose it every month, so there’s no stockpiling or anything, but still) and you’re getting a sweet ass game that you only need to wait for the case to be delivered for like 13 bucks.  I was a member of GameStop’s rewards program for a year or two, and I’d rather spend the same money on GameFly.

I have also renewed my PSN Plus account, because Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning has finally hit the “free for PlaystationPlus” section, which I’ve been waiting for since the game came out.  At $50/year or $18/3 months this is another value that’s kind of hard to beat if you have the bandwidth to actually deal with all the downloading.  I’ve played more games than I can count for free through PlaystationPlus, but here’s a short list just for you:

Saints Row 2, Saints Row the Third, Infamous 2, LittleBigPlanet 2, Hitman Absolution, I feel like I actually bought the Assassin’s Creed 3 bundle at a discount, I bought I Am Alive and Amy and at least the first four Walking Dead episodes, all at a discount.

So if you have some expendable income and you’re wondering if these services are worthwhile, I suppose the real answer lies in just what you’ll get out of the service.  GameFly is definitely worth it, especially if there are a LOT of games that you want to try.  Don’t like a game, send it back and they’ll send you whatever the next thing they send you from your list is, easy as that.  There have been games that I was thinking about buying that I narrowly avoided disaster just because I tried it on GameFly first…since buying a game that’s already in your possession is more convenient than just about any alternative.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

