A touch of ambiance on an autumn evening.

As I was walking to work last night, I happened to pass someone sitting on their porch playing an accordion, and for some *cough* unknown reason I was almost overwhelmed with the urge to stop my transit long enough to show my appreciation for his contribution to the atmosphere of the walk.  I didn’t stop, but that one little fifteen or twenty second window where I was walking down the sidewalk to the sound of someone playing a tune on an squeezebox was kind of magical with the cool (effing cold) air and the autumn leaves and the lavender and mango twilight.

Back in the before times, when I had a working automobile with a working CD player, I would take great joy and elaborate artistry in crafting well-flowing mix CDs for driving.  When there was less car and smaller technology (i.e. college) I still listened to my mp3 player walking to or from anywhere.  Road trips were especially fun, when I could come up with two or three on the fly during the trip, or at least have a few made beforehand.

Music is kind of an important part of the maintenance of my sanity, and the walk to work is an excellent time to indulge in some fun.  Unfortunately, I haven’t had an mp3 player for a while, and I miss having background music for my walking around.  A lot of my co-workers at the steakhouse in the mountains never really understood why I wouldn’t try harder to find a ride to work when I lived a fifteen minute walk away, and I couldn’t figure out how to explain to them in a way that they wouldn’t think was crazy that those fifteen minutes of listening to music are like…a massage for my soul.  Though admittedly the thing I miss the most about car and music is the ability to sing all the hell I wanted without having to worry about being ridiculous in the way that walking down the street singing at the top of your lungs with some headphones on can be.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

