Halloween! And also a look ahead…

It’s finally here!  Halloween is officially upon us.  I would taunt and tantalize you with all my glorious Halloween plans…except…

I have to work.

One of the chief flaws inherit in working a third-shift food service job is the sacrifice of certain holidays and weekend activities.  My days off are at the beginning of the week, so the number of people who are doing stuff after 3am diminish greatly.   I’m more of an indoor cat anyway, so it suits me just fine to stay in.

When I was young, there weren’t a lot of people my age very close to my house, and even if there were I was fairly weird and loud and obnoxious and…well…I liked to spend Halloween with a pile of horror movies and just watch them bitches all night long.  I was a kid then, and so years when it fell on weekends I’d have to defer to one weekend or the other as my halloween, but now that I’s an adult I can party when I want ta.

But I still haven’t played Reckoning and I was downloading it for two days.  So I’m probably going to do some of that when I finish with Remember Me for the night.  I might lie down to something nice and spooky a little closer to sun up, but for now I got vidya games to play.  

Which brings me to the second thing…

I have decided, after what I will call “lengthy deiberation,” that I am going to participate in NaNoWriMo this year.  

I’ve known about it for a few years and have been far too chickenshit to even entertain the idea.  Even now I don’t really know what I’m going to write, even remotely.  I have a few ideas that have been working around in my brain for years but neither of them are anywhere near ready for drafting yet.  

I also like the idea of starting with a fresh idea and running it for 50k words.  So that’s what some of today is going to be about.  I want to try and come up with some ideas that I like.  I also have to work tonight, because it just wouldn’t be Halloween if I didn’t have to work.  But the first half of this magical day is mine to do with as I please.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Halloween! And also a look ahead…

  1. Giselle Noir says:

    I TOO HAVE TO WORK ON HALLOWEEN! (Both jobs)

  2. Stratafied says:

    I just incorporate work into my Halloween plans…by subjecting everyone else to my obsession with random costumes.

Feed Me, Seymour!

