Dia De Los Muertos

Suggested Listening: Mexico by That Handsome Devil

 

Now, ordinarily I’d have had a post earlier in the day, because I like to do a lot of mah blogginz after work in the early morning.  

Unfortunately, I got my ass handed to me at work last night.  Halloween is one of the three busiest occasions of our calendar year.  There are lots of events that come through town that can bring a boost in business, but Halloween is Halloween.  We deliver until sometime after 3 and we have a bar.  Obviously New Year’s Eve is a big one too, but it terms of food sales, our big revenue times are Halloween and the homecoming for for of the local universities.  One was last weekend.  And the other happens to start, oh wait, TODAY MOTHERFUCKERS!  In addition, one of our managers is on vacation until Saturday.  That wouldn’t sound too bad, until you consider that leaves us with three people working in the kitchen on the two busiest nights of the year, and those nights are ass-to-ass like Jennifer Connolly in Requiem for a Dream.  Fuck me.  Sideways.  

And when I got off work and a friend wanted to go get food, oh yeah I hopped right on that.  Went and got some Steak n Shake, and more or less went to bed for a few hours before going and getting my paycheck.

Suffice to say, I have not started on my NaNo project.  Depending on how I feel by the time I finish breakfast (and this blog) I may try to crank out a couple hundred words just to get started.  I may also go the fuck back to bed and sleep for another two or three hours.  It isn’t a tremendous start to the month, but circumstances require that the job that’s already paying me take precedent.

 

So I leave you with one of my favorite songs from one of my favorite guilty pleasure movies of all time: Shock Treatment.  The song is called, appropriately, Lullaby.  The full movie is apparently available on YouTube as well, an anyone who considers themselves a Rock Horror fan should most definitely give it at least one watch.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

