Still Not Sure What to NaNo

Suggested Listening: Sunday Morning Coming Down (Johnny Cash or Crooked Fingers)

Because I want to increase my readership, not scare everyone away, I wanted to post something NOT rant-related as well before I shuffle off to do whatever it is I’m going to do for the next few hours.  That may very well be turning on a game console, opening up a word processor, and hopping back and forth, one of those things, or sleep.

I am suffering a bit of what I will delicately call “being a fucking coward about making a real attempt to fulfill a lifelong dream because I might fail at something that doesn’t actually have a tangible meaning in the world should I fail.”  I prefer to call it writer’s block, because that sounds less, well, like a pussy, but it’s important not to use that as a crutch.  What is actually the problem is this:

I have a few novel ideas kicking around in my head.  Some of them are old and well-developed but still not ready to be penned, some are newer but require a lot of research I don’t really know if I’m up to, and some of them are just kind of fluttering whispers of bits and pieces.

ALSO TEH VIDYA GAAAAMES.  I’ve literally been waiting to play Reckoning until it was free for PS3, and oh man its been so worth the wait.  At least the first six hours I’ve actually played have been.

I also have Remember Me and Lego Harry Potter Years 5-7 to at least get through once before I send back.  And those are things I’ve already spent money on.  They’re also excellent distractions from writing words that need to be written for this whole NaNoWriMo thing to happen.  Which is why I haven’t let myself play them for the last day or so.

Which makes me want to play them more.

I have one more night of work and then I have three days off.  I’m hoping I’ll be able to sit down those three days and make up at least a chunk of the two I’ve more or less lost to the job that pays me and my need for sleep.

I also need to start dealing seriously with the idea of just starting a new idea from scratch, but that brings with it the questions of setting and tone and voice and all these things that will also take some time to figure out.  Or maybe I should just sit down and force myself to bang through a few pages just to get momentum and then go from there.  Either way, that novel’s not going to write itself while I’m here.

Have a great Sunday.  Enjoy your extra hour of sleep, fuckers.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

