Western Black Rhino Declared Extinct

I was about to post about this and needed some facts. So I’m just going to reblog this and let it speak for itself while I rant. Well, I’m not actually going to rant today. I’m so disappointed about this that I can’t even be angry. Just disgusted with the people who have allowed this to go on to this point. And not just with the rhinos. With just the progress of humanity at all costs. Or at least at certain costs while completely ignoring other costs. Or whatever it is that leads us here. To a majestic fucking creature being wiped off the face of the Earth for like…1/1000th of it’s body mass. Which is somehow still being traded because…well obviously.

So what the fuck humanity? Are we really going to continue to be so goddamn narcissistic as a species that we eradicate EVERYTHING?

Okay fine I ranted after all.

Science & Space

The Western black rhinoceros has officially been declared extinct by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), the world’s largest conservation network.

A subspecies of the black rhino, native to Africa, the Western black rhino was last seen in 2006.

The black rhino is listed as “critically endangered” by the IUCN, which warns the northern white rhino is “teetering on the brink of extinction,” CNN reports.

“In the case of the Western black rhino and the Northern white rhino, the situation could have had very different results if the suggested conservation measures had been implremented,” said Simon Stuart of the IUCN.

A Texas hunting group, the “Dallas Safari Club” drew criticism last month when it announced plans to auction off a permit to hunt a black rhino, which the group said would aid in conservation efforts. Roughly 70,000 black rhinos lived in the wild in 1960. An estimated 4,000…

View original post 24 more words

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

