The Grice Ponders Identity and the Internet

I would like someone to tell the weather that it’s not December yet.  I moved away from the mountains to get away from freezing shit in November.

In other news, I’m working on expanding my visibility by including other social media platforms, but I’m still kind of deciding just how much I want to integrate my various social networking presences into one synthesized entity.  Part of the reason for that is professional ambition, which I often like to pretend I don’t have.  Somewhere along the way I’d like to start getting paid to write.

The problem with using a blog for potential professional exposure is that you have to predict, after a fashion, the best way to cater to the widest array of sensibilities as possible, because you never know who might be looking at something you’ve written and basing your potential hire-ability on what they read.

Now that said, I swear a lot, but I do that not out of ignorance, but as linguistic choice.  Yes I swear a lot as a matter of general principle, but I am capable of communicating without it.  And for the most part I’m an open book and I’m more than willing to discuss just about anything.

There are, however, things about me that I don’t talk about on this blog.  And some of that is because there are people in my life who access to this blog who do not need some of that information, as well as some who may or may not want to be privy to it.  There are other avenues through which I am able to express and engage those things, and the question is do I want the access of information to flow that freely in any particular direction?  Do I really want my real-life friends on Facebook to be able to six-degrees-of-Kevin-Bacon their way across my social network until they stumble upon something they end up judging me for?  Or more importantly, some potential employer?  Not that there won’t already be cross-platform publicity for this blog which would allow an observant person to figure it out, but I’m talking about the kind of direct access that even the derpiest of derps could figure out.

Because information is power, and never has that been more frighteningly true than now.  Between almost consensual domestic espionage and a world filled with cybercriminal enterprise, the absolutely free exchange of information has become much less safe than it used to be, and identity security has killed the anonymity of the internet.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

