Obligatory Black Friday Rant

People don’t even really celebrate Thanksgiving.  They celebrate Black Friday.  That’s why the stores are open on Thanksgiving.

 

– My Manager

 

So I was going to post one of a couple of rants on Thursday, but decided to take the day off.  And I had work tonight, but Black Friday isn’t really a good night for us business wise.  One of the other people was under the weather, but because I’m not salary I’m the one that gets to go home early.  Which is fine by me.  I mean I really need the money right now, but someone had to go home because we weren’t doing the business to support three people.  I stalled for an extra three and a half hours before I left, but still, whatever.  

And so here we are.  Since I’m not working that job I figured it was about time to weigh-in on the most topical thing I’m going to bother with.  In this case Thanksgiving and Black Friday.

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  But you already covered this in Winter Has Come…so why are you gonna do this again?  Is this just a lazy attempt to make a post from nothing?  

Look, I like to tell stories over and over again.  Sometimes it’s because I forget who I’ve already told a story, and sometimes it’s because it’s a good story.  Well I rant the same way.  So sit down, shut up, and let’s get this going.

I tipped the girl at Sonic 3 bucks on an 11 dollar ticket.  Why?  Because it was like 10 o’clock and there she was on her skates serving people food on Thanksgiving.  That doesn’t sound like a lot until you realize it was my last 20 dollars I was spending, and I wasn’t going to be able to cash my check this week until Monday due to bank closing thanks to the holiday.  

I’m not going to give some list of things I’m thankful for.  That list exists in non-written form, but I really don’t feel like pontificating on that shit right now.  And I’m only going to gloss over the irony of Thanksgiving and Black Friday.  Or the irony of Thanksgiving itself, for that matter.

I really wish that people were more creative.  At least when my family in Louisiana does holiday food, it’s something interesting.  Having said that, my grandfather has more or less religiously deep-fried and injection-basted his turkeys for about the last decade, especially since my grandmother died.  And there’s usually a ham involved, but as often as not the pig that provided the ham was personally raised, killed, and slaughtered by someone I’m related to and hand-delivered already wrapped in a cooler.

So when Christmas rolls around and it’s two pots of different gumbo (one is duck, shrimp, chicken, sausage, crawfish and the other has squirrel in place of the duck) and dirty rice and it feels more like a real kind of meal that should be served around Thanksgiving.  I don’t think that turkeys and pigs should bear all of the burden of a day that exists, more or less, as a national day of thanks for the bountiful supplies that Providence* has seen fit to bestow.  In theory it’s supposed to be about taking a moment to be gracious for the things in your life that you have.

Right before you go buy more.  For Christmas.  Which is a holiday of gift-giving and generosity in honor of Jesus and all that stuff.  Now…I really don’t have the time or energy to go full-steam rant at this, and I’m not going to rehash a bunch of shit that’s already being said by a whole lot of other people right around this time of year.

But I do want to say a couple of things.

1. Now that Thanksgiving is over, I officially recognize the legitimate start of the Christmas season.  If someone says “Merry Christmas” to you…Don’t be a fucking douchebag.  If you don’t celebrate Christmas, then you can say Happy Channukah or Happy Holidays or Blessed Solstice or whatever the fuck you want to say.  Don’t belittle another person’s attempt to send positive energy your way.  It might be the only time of year they do it; don’t give people a reason to stop being positive.

2. Remember to consider the people in your life who you might not consider otherwise.  Mailmen, food service people, baggers at grocery stores.  Christmas tends to be a super-busy time of year and it’s followed by a great sucking vaccuum called “everybody’s broke after Christmas.”  So those people, a lot of whom aren’t paid very well and have to work extra hard around the holidays without getting to spend time with their families who live out of town…or the ones who work on holidays in industries that don’t have holiday pay…remember that those people enrich your life too.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Obligatory Black Friday Rant

  1. Jessica says:

    Jolly good point, my friend. I struck up a conversation with one of the nice ladies at one of the stores I went to the other day. I could see she was tired and I wanted to make her laugh. If we could all do things like this, I think it would make a difference.

Feed Me, Seymour!

