December. Whoo.

Well, Thanksgiving is behind us and we’ve survived another Black Friday.  We can’t stop here, it’s Christmas country.

But I’m still not ready to welcome Christmastime into my life quite so openly.  This is also the last month of the calendar year, so it’s also the time to begin reflections on the year that has past and look forward to the year that is to come.

If you engage in New Year’s Resolutions, it’s better to start thinking about that shit now so that you can come to a considered and rational choice, as opposed to the hundred and twelve lazy ass Resolutions everyone makes every year, about quitting this or taking care of that more or whatever.

I don’t bother with that shit.  I’m too busy making a hundred other resolutions to myself on a daily basis to concern myself with some overarching theme for the year that’s going to fall by the wayside before March.

But December is also a good time to sit down and take an inventory of the year, decide where you think you went right and where you think you went wrong.  It’s also not a bad time to reassess your budget for the coming year.

I don’t do any of that shit, either.

Because I spend so much time in the winter being, more or less, too tired to do much more than go to work, it’s really difficult to motivate my brain into actually coming up with something useful in a tangible aspect.  It’s kind of like trying to use molasses for motor oil.

So December tends to be a lot of me working and sleeping.

On top of this, I need to find a new place to live by year’s end.  Hours have been cut at work, hard enough that I may need to find another job.  I also actually have a week scheduled off, the week before Christmas.  It’s damn near impossible to pull that kind of thing off, and I’m not sure that I should waste an opportunity to actually go back home at Christmas time for the first time since I left.

So it’s gonna be a busy one.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

