I’ll Be Home for Christmas or The Joy of Being a Minimalist

I apologize to my budding readership for my absence of late.  There’s a lot of shuffling around going on in my life right now and finding things to blog about has gotten a little more difficult.  

The long and short of it all is that I’ll be moving back to the mountains Friday.  I don’t know the duration of my stay, and I don’t know where I’ll be heading afterwards.  And I’m not making that decision right now.  I haven’t been back home for the holidays in a while, so I’m viewing this as an opportunity to finally do that.  What happens after the holidays, well, I’m sure as soon as I figure that out, you’ll be the first to know.

But in the process of getting my things packed, I have come to realize just how minimalistic my life is.  The sum total of my possessions are, more or less, as follows:

1 suitcase, full (clothes)

1 backpack, full (random)

1 laptop bag, full (random)

2 boxes, full (books)

1 box, full (video games)

1 box, full (PS3 and random)

2 boxes, full (random)

1 laundry basket – large, full

1 laundry basket – small, full

1 coat, US Army

1 coat, leather

1 hat, Crown Royal

1 hat, Kangol

1 hoodie – gray

2 PC Towers

1 External HDD

1 42″ Plasma TV

1 set speakers with subwoofer

1 chair, folding

1 bokken

2 lockboxes

 

That’s it.  Everything I own right there.

I’m not the sort of person who likes to have a lot of stuff, or I suppose it’s more accurate to say that I have no problem viewing certain material possessions as transient and unnecessary to carry on with me.  As a result, I have spent the last ten years or so owning about 1 carload of stuff.  I hate moving.  I’ve done it a good number of times in my life.  It’s stressful.  

It’s a lot less stressful when all you have to do is empty out the car and you’re done.  It also makes moving a LOT easier in terms of trying to make a long-distance move.  Or it would be if I had a car.

The last car I bought was a financial disaster, and while having a car is almost a requisite component to the American lifestyle, I still prefer to use my legs while I’m young and able enough.  I like not having to worry about car insurance or oil changes or alignments or tire rotations or head gaskets or any of that shit.

I do miss being able to hop in the car and go wherever I want without having to impose on other people or rely on public transportation.  I also miss singing in the car.  Like you wouldn’t believe.  But it’s still nice to be able to rent a car instead of a U-Haul if you need to move.  

I will probably post again before I leave town.

Man I’m gonna miss making pizzas.

Not sure if that’s sarcasm or not.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

