So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Good Night.

As of the beginning of the writing of this post, it is 2:30AM.  In 11.5 hours, roughly, I will be leaving Greensboro to head back to the mountains.

It’s been 4 and a half years since the last time I left Greensboro with a carload of stuff to head back to the mountains to regroup.  It wasn’t a great feeling then, it’s not a great feeling now.  The land of opportunity it isn’t.  A mecca of progressive thinking it isn’t.  They only legalized the sale of beer in one of the towns I’m from 5 years ago.  Let that sink in.  Since then they’ve got an ABC store put in, but I can’t imagine that’s had too negative an impact on the local meth sales.  Did I say meth?  I meant preserves. Strawberry preserves.

And the last time I went up to “regroup” I was there for two years, and wasn’t really much better off than I had been in any tangible sense.  And I didn’t manage to leave until I literally made a horrible life decision and just rode it out to its logical conclusion.

Which, apparently, is heading back home for the holidays at very least.  And like I said, I’m not making plans about that right now.

I’m not the same person I was then.  But I’m not a different person either.  And to be honest I’m terrified that this going to turn into another two-year tour.  And that’s something I desperately need to avoid for the sake of my sanity.  The high country is a nice place, it’s beautiful…but I don’t fit in.  I never have, and I probably won’t until I’m 60, if I even live that long.

With the dishes more or less done and my things more or less packed…I guess that’s about got it all covered.  In theory, I should still have internet while I’m back in the mountains so I’ll be able to keep the Passion going and won’t have to go into hiatus.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

