The Beginning of the End or That Was Fun, Now What?

Christmas is officially over now, which means we begin the seven-day crawl towards Year’s End.  Which means that now we’re going to be assaulted throughout popular media with “year in review” and “best of 2013” and a million and twelve other half-ass retrospectives, while simultaneously being told that we should be “looking ahead” and “preparing our New Year’s resolutions.” Which of course are supposed to be about quitting smoking or losing weight or in some other way doing something that makes us more palatable society at large.  That way, we have something to motivate us through the hell of January and most of the way to Valentine’s Day that they can use to leech what little money we have left.   Never forget that there are people who are paid to ensure smooth profit growth across the year.  I don’t mean to sound cynical or jaded, but if the disenfranchised shoe fits…

Now, I’m sure a lot of you are wondering: Christmas is over, so isn’t it time for you to be all like “so here’s what I’m gonna do now…”

Yes and no.  I said that I wasn’t going to make any decisions regarding my future plans until after Christmas.  This is true, but not entirely accurate, insofar as I was waiting until after Christmas to even begin the process of making decisions in an active or tangible fashion.  The first step in all of this is simple: try to find work around here.  Ski season is in full swing, so I will probably go up to Banner Elk and see if any of the restaurants are hiring for the season.  I’d love to get work that doesn’t involve the word “kitchen” but at this point I need the income more than I need to be picky about my job.  Plus, I do kind of miss making pizzas already.

I’m also reaching that point where I need to start being more productive or it’s going to start having a negative impact on my mental climate.  It’s really difficult to spend a lot of time outside right now because it’s been…cold.  And I’ve been living in the flats so long I forgot what the fuck cold really means.

I also got to visit my dad and granddad on Christmas Eve, which was nice.  I’m sure my granddad misses living in not the boonies, but I’m also glad that he’s out of what was going on where he had been.  And it’s also hard to get out to the Fayette-nam.  So I’m glad that I get to see him more often now.  Especially now, I guess.

All in all, I’d have to say it’s been a pretty good Christmas, and I certainly needed the vacation.

Now for something completely different…

I would like to point out that on Weird Al‘s UHF album, the polka medley seems to be entirely Rolling Stones.  The track is called Hot Rocks Polka and includes: It’s Only Rock n Roll, Brown Sugar, You Can’t Always Get What You Want, Honky-Tonk Woman, Under My Thumb, Sympathy for the Devil, Let’s Spend the Night Together, and Can’t Get No Satisfaction, and one or two I couldn’t place.

These are not (necessarily) the correct song titles, I’m not the biggest Stones fan in the world and I frankly don’t feel like doing the research, but these are the most recognizable lyrical tags I could determine.  And it’s fucking bad-ass.  If you haven’t figured it out yet, I fucking love Weird Al.  He’s fucking brilliant.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

