Nope, It’s Still Winter or I Should Probably Get Out of the House on Principle.

So the last time I left the house was the day we went to Charlotte.  It hasn’t been on purpose but…well…the only thing vaguely within walking distance is the post office, and I don’t really feel like walking that mile in the snow on the side of a road with no sidewalks.  It hasn’t really been on purpose, but between the snow and the work schedule of the one person in this house with a car, getting out has just not been something that’s managed to happen in a while.

On the upside, I’ve finished watching all five seasons of Leverage and I’m about halfway through my second playthrough on Borderlands 2.  Which has more or less amounted to me spoofing a second player to power-level a friend’s character.  And since someone was sheltered her whole life, I’m going to have to sit her down and force her to watch The Addams Family (the show, I’ve already made her watch the 1991 movie.)  For those of you who haven’t caught up with Leverage yet, you should.  It ends beautifully.

The job hunt has been fairly uneventful, which isn’t really surprising for up here in the winter.  Jobs are kind of scarce up here at the best of times, and while the winter definitely brings the skiers the slopes are still a good half hour away and were probably staffed in October.  I’ve been, admittedly, avoiding one potential employment venue simply because it’s a decent distance away and I would really rather not backtrack to a job I left five years ago, which is a good half an hour in the other direction.  I miss walking distance to work.  I also, surprisingly enough, miss my old job.

Unemployment has been about as uneventful as the job search.  For some reason there is an “active issue” with my claim, and I’m waiting for something to come in the mail, I guess?  I may need to pay a visit to the Department of Employment Services (once known as the Employment Security Commission) with some pay stubs and/or my W-2 to try and get any of that figured out.  If there’s anything to figure out in the first place.  My state is one of those that refused the Federal Unemployment Extension of Benefits money, so I get the feeling that my state is probably not too far from being an even shittier place to be unemployed.

So yeah.  If you feel like you’ve been missing out on the exciting life of the Grice, let me put your fears to rest: I’ve been in hibernation mode, cuddled up on the couch watching a retarded amount of TV and movies and slogging through trying to find a job.

And I’m pretty much ready for Spring.  Cuz fuck this winter bullshit.

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feed Me, Seymour!

