Fancy Meeting You Here or The Grice Comes Out of Hibernation

Hey there, Internet.  It’s been a while.  You look amazing.  Have you lost weight?

I’m doing fine.  I know I dropped off the face of the earth for a little while, but I promise that’s perfectly normal.  Those of you that know me probably don’t need much explanation, but for those of you that don’t…sooner or later every winter I hibernate for a while, and my anecdotal insistence is that it usually happens around February, and may be attributable to Seasonal Affective Disorder (you may recall I posted this in November.)

I call it hibernation because it’s usually an extended period of time where I feel especially sluggish and tired.  Given the opportunity, I’ll sleep a lot.  Otherwise I eat and smoke a lot to try and stay awake without my mind rebelling for the sake of sleep.  Creative things are harder to manage due to the sort of syrupy consistency my brain takes on when it’s cold, and social environments are ultimately taxing and irksome.  Plus it sounds a lot less like a problem and more like an environmental response when you call it hibernation.

I grew up in these mountains.  There’s fuck-all to do when it’s cold and dark, unless you hunt or go to church, I suppose.  Everything pretty much shuts down at dark as a general principle, and when dark is like 6:00 PM…you basically spend a lot of time coming up with ways to amuse yourself in your own home for as little cost as possible.  Though apparently they put a YMCA in the hospital, so if we’re lucky and enough of us can stay motivated to do something about it, we at least might manage to get some exercise somewhere inside.

When I was a kid, we had these places called video stores.  And the one chain of video stores in our area had 99 cent rentals on Mondays.  This was before the internet had invaded our homes, before Netflix and Redbox and cell phones.   And once the power went out, then you had a whole new world of limits.  Depending on where in the county you lived, your power could be out for a day or even a week after a big snow.  No lights, no running water, Playing cards can be a life-saver three or four days into a snow-in.  The same can be said for good books nobody’s had the time to read.  Or, you know…sleep.  Nothing to do?  Fuck it let’s go back to bed.

In other news, I’ve figured out better ways to make potatoes so that the starch doesn’t stick to the pan, which is nice.  I’ve also figured out how to turn my computer into a media server accessible by my PS3, which gives me better access to my files without having to drag the external hard drive all over the house.

More to come later, folks.  But for now I need to wade through the month of stuff I haven’t checked.

 

About geist171

All my life I was told that I could be anything I wanted. I chose to be gracious for my blessings, generous with my fortunes, and in no particular hurry. I view my ADD as an alternative cognitive configuration rather than a disorder, and I never. shut. the fuck. up. I promise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fancy Meeting You Here or The Grice Comes Out of Hibernation

  1. Stratafied says:

    Welcome back, you recluse you 😉 You’ve been missed.

Feed Me, Seymour!

